Amsterdam is Bliss.

Amsterdam was a blissful oasis tucked between the chaos of Paris and Berlin. It was a strange Utopia of calm after a slightly overwhelming weekend in Paris. 


We arrived by train at midmorning to Amsterdam Centraal and I instantly knew I was in my kind of city! 


There’s something about the Dutch that is so comforting! While touristy, there is also a deep sense of locality. And the locals are warm! They welcome you, chat with you, and make you feel like you’re a part of the city. The city and its locals are cool, style-conscious and cosmopolitan; yet nothing is ever pretentious or forced. A beautiful sight after years of LA-designed hipsterism.

Their style is chic and sophisticated; but utilitarian and practical, lending to their constantly active lifestyles. 

And although the city is in constant motion and people always seem to be doing something with a purpose, it’s calm. People don’t scream and honk at bikers who swerve in the way of cars… They just… Let them pass! Everyone is friendly, helpful, and eager to share info about their country or favorite cafe. Frankly, it was refreshing after living in the density of Bogotá. My inner energy really needed those 2 days of peace in Amsterdam.  




I found a local shop called Adam Local, in Jourdaan, which sells souvenirs made my local designers and artisans. Highly recommended if you’re looking for a beautiful trinkets and designs.

It’s easily my favorite city now, though our time was limited. We enjoyed the coffee shops, the cafes, ice cream along one of the canals, explored the red light district and often split up to walk on our own. 






Even if you’re planning on an extended stay in Paris, I highly recommend taking a day trip to Amsterdam! The train leaves from Gard du Nord regularly and it’s only 3 hours from Paris! 

 

Amsterdam is Bliss.

2 thoughts on “Amsterdam is Bliss.

  1. I am so thankful to have read this post. Your honest words are so comforting- as I am visiting Amsterdam for 5 days in August and it is so hard to sift through the varied opinions of the city. Your photos are beautiful- and I am going to star the shop you mentioned in my Google maps so I can go there! It sounds great! I’m so glad I found your blog and i cant wait to read more!

    1. Hi Brooke!! I am sooo happy to hear that! 🙂 thank you for the kind words. Amsterdam is WONDERFUL! You will love it! The shop I mentioned is full of beautiful gifts and souvenirs, all locally made and unique. I ended up buying an amazing minimalist drawing of a typical Amsterdam scene. I’ll share pics of it soon on Instagram! 🙂 thanks for reading! Xo

Leave a Reply

