Museums: Bogota, DC.

It’s been a while since I’ve been to a good museum exhibit. In the states, I would try to get out as often as possible to my favorite museums and lose myself in my thoughts for the day.

There are some great museums in Bogota, but for whatever reason, I haven’t spent much time exploring them. Luckily, my fabulous and amazing friend Collin ventured across the sea to come see me for two weeks! 

Both in need of a heavy dose of culture (especially after more than a few days of consistent partying) we trekked into El Centro (remember when I wrote about it here?) and escaped from the bustling city for a bit.

Our first stop: Museo Del Oro. Honestly, I’ve been to this museum a few too many times but it does hold the largest collection of gold in the world and if you’re visiting Bogota for the first time, it’s absolutely a must-see. It’s only $3.000COP to get in (About a dollar) and is rich in pre-Columbian history. Go get your knowledge on people.

After a great photo op, we schlepped a few blocks and headed for a bite at my fave-not-so-secret-spot La Puerta Falsa (remember my post!?). It was filled with gringos. I guess between my blog post and Anthony Bourdain’s Bogota episode, that shit blew up. You’re welcome Puerta.

After splitting some Ajiaco and a tamale, we headed over to the Museo de Botero. If you’re a fan of Colombia’s most famous artist, head there asap! If you like Picasso and other amazing works also head there! It’s located in a beautiful old house, rich in— you guessed it!–Colombian history and art!

Next door is the Museo de Arte del Banco de la Republica. We rolled over to peruse and ended up stumbling on one of the greatest exhibits I’ve seen since Pierre Huyghe at the LACMA last year… (remember the post!? 😉 )

The exhibit was one by Argentine artist Graciela Sacco. It was an amazing installation exhibit reflecting on social issues and movements, particularly migration and finding your place in the world.

The best part was a room made to feel like you were crossing a foot bridge over deep water. Talk about a psychological thrill! I was afraid to look down!

After that, there was more fun to be had exploring all the modern and contemporary art rooms. You know I’m a huge fan of Kinetic art and was more than delighted to play with some of the pieces that I found!

The Sacco exhibit has since closed but stay tuned for more fun art adventures! 

Museums: Bogota, DC.

4 thoughts on “Museums: Bogota, DC.

  1. Lisa says:

    Pretty much replicating this day when I visit Bogota in a few weeks…. And on that matter, your blog has been brilliant inspiration for planning! Loving it

Leave a Reply

