Gluten Free Oatmeal Pancakes

One of the things I love most in life is waking up on a rainy Saturday or Sunday with nothing to do but cuddle up in bed with your favorite person/pet, some coffee, and a little music. Luckily, Bogota is chock full of rainy mornings so I get to indulge myself in this simple pleasure often.

A couple Sunday’s ago I woke up to one of these mornings and a serious desire for pancakes (which should never, under any circumstances, be ignored).I probably saw something on Pinterest earlier in the week about fluffy pancakes and the seed was planted. Usually, my brunch game is more of a savory one: fried eggs on avocado toast, a lox breakfast sandwich, the occasional grilled cheese with bacon and avocado if I’m feeling more of the –unch. French toast, pancakes, waffles, and Nutella crepes rarely make it to my plate…

So anyway, I woke up with that unignorable (is that a word?) pancake desire so I pulled my pantry apart for some ingredients. (Not surprisingly) there was no traditional pancake mix, but I did have a ton of oats and chia seeds! In Boulder, I used to make protein pancakes on the reg (ground oats + one scoop of chocolate protein powder) so that was my inspo for these bad boys. All the ingredients** in this recipe you probably already have so they’re perfect for any last minute-rainy day brunch in bed!

**I didn’t have eggs, but I did have quail eggs on hand (more on that in a following post), which worked just fine!

Here’s what you need for 2 people (multiply/divide as needed):

  • 2/3 cup ground oats (I grind mine in my coffee grinder) + 1 tbsp whole oats
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk (coconut milk would be tasty as well!)
  • 1/2 tbsp chia seeds (optional, I’m currently obsessed so I add them to everything)
  • 3 quail eggs (or one regular egg)
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • pinch of salt

Mix your ground oats, BP, chia seeds, and salt with your almond milk until smooth. In another bowl, lightly beat your egg with your vanilla and combine it with your oats and almond mixture slowly. The lot should be smooth and slightly liquidy. If not, you did it wrong and have to start over… Just kidding! Add a splash more of almond milk to loosen things up if you need. Sprinkle your cinnamon and whole oats into the mix and spoon all those bad boys together.

On the stove heat up you griddle with a tiny bit of butter or coconut oil (<– the preferred choice) and pour a large tablespoon of your batter into the center of the pan. You can make them as large or small you want, but because these don’t have gluten, they will be a lot more manageable if smaller. Let it spread out and sizzle until you see some bubbles on top and give it a flip. Let the other side sizzle for about 3-4 minutes more and move it to a plate. Repeat with all your batter and add a little more butter/oil when necessary.

The night before this brilliant idea, I had a few other brilliant ideas! I had just made a delicious berry compote and some ginger-spiced granola, which were the perfect toppings to my oatmeal pancakes. You could also top them with the traditional butter and maple syrup, or perhaps some warm almond butter and bananas. Or get a little creative and try coconut cream with chocolate chips and berries? The limit does not exist on this one folks. Go wild!

Note: You may have noticed there is no sugar in this recipe. I omitted it because, as I mentioned, my taste buds prefer savory. However, adding about a tablespoon of pure maple syrup will sweeten these right up for you OR balance the heartiness with any sweet-tooth topping combo you desire! 

How do YOU like to spend your weekend mornings? Let me know in the comments!!

Gluten Free Oatmeal Pancakes

2 thoughts on “Gluten Free Oatmeal Pancakes

Leave a Reply

