Learning to be Alone.

The title of this post sounds sad and lonely; but I promise you it’s not! In fact, it’s the opposite. It’s a reflection on finding peace and happiness in those moments of necessary solitude that we almost never allow ourselves.

A very wise friend/personal hero of mine has a philosophy he shared recently:

11196312_987420554603064_7632581288071343468_n

I don’t think I could agree more with his philosophy. I realized recently that for the last 24 years, I’ve spent nearly all of my time with another person (parents, roommates, friends, boyfriends, etc) and have never really stepped back to take a good look at my reflection, completely alone and completely independent of anything/one else.

That’s what this whole move has been about for me. Spending time alone, with myself. I’m not a hermit. I still go out, meet new friends, visit with family; but I’m learning to appreciate the solitude in my new life here. The simple things like having breakfast in complete silence and being fully conscious and aware of where I am in that moment. Going on walks in my new neighborhood, spending an hour everyday writing or reading a book before bed. (All of which I did in my own life, but without the conscious effort of self reflection).

Last week I spent the 24 hours in meditation at an Ashram in nearby Villa de Lleyva. I’d never spent that much time alone in my own thoughts and it was interesting: I learned more about myself in that 24 hours than I may have in the last 24 years. It’s something about shutting off everything around you. All the noise, all the negativity, and the outside thoughts. You begin to hear yourself a little differently and you pay attention because you can’t hide from your thoughts without the outside noise.

I still have a lot of growing to do but I’m open to it. I know that learning to be alone is the best achievement so far.

(Ps- If you’d like to know more about the amazing work that BC does, check him out HERE! He’s truly a beautiful human being.)

Learning to be Alone.

3 thoughts on “Learning to be Alone.

Leave a Reply

