Family Easter

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Hanging out with the cutie Santi. He’s getting so old, so fast!
Arrived to my dad's house one morning to find my grandpa making bloody mary's from scratch. Fresh squeezed tomatoes are key!
Arrived to my dad’s house one morning to find my grandpa making bloody mary’s from scratch. Fresh squeezed tomatoes are key!

I realized I never shared some photos I snapped from Easter Sunday a few weeks back!

In my family, food is what unites us. Whether it’s preparing it all together or sitting around a table for dinner has always been emphasized. No phones, no TVs, just pure conversation, sometimes debate, and always good food.

This year, my family spent Easter a bit scattered (Aaron in Colorado, Mateo and my dad in Scotland) and Santi with his mom, and aunts and uncles off doing their own thing. I spent the day with my grandma and my mom, having a relaxing Easter together in the backyard with great music, champagne, and food. Wanting to take advantage of a brand new, state of the art kitchen, I put myself in charge of Easter dinner!

Springtime cooking is my favorite! It’s a little bit lighter and fresher than the heavy, comfort foods of winter but still have the ability to warm you from the inside out.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

After Mass, I started us off with a light brunch: Lemon Ricotta and Avocado Toast (on rosemary country bread), topped with cucumbers and heirloom tomatoes.

Avocado Toast is trendy AND delicious 😉

My recipe is super simple!

  • 1/2 lemon (zested and squeezed)
  • 1/2 cup ricotta (whole or part skim milk)
  • 1 very ripe, large avocado
  • 1 quarter cucumber peeled and thinly sliced
  • 1/2 cup heirloom toms, halved
  • salt and pepper
  • red pepper flakes
  • crusty bread, sliced and toasted

Grate the zest of half a lemon into about 1/2 cup ricotta. I accidentally bought whole milk, but part skim works well. In a separate bowl, roughly chop/smash your avocado with a little salt and pepper. Try to keep it a bit chunky, rather than smooth guacamole-style. Lightly fold lemon juice in (again, not too much as to prevent it from becoming too smooth).

On toasted slices of bread, spread a layer of ricotta and then spoon on a heavy layer of avocado (the more the better, trust me!). Sprinkle with more salt and pepper and chili flakes. Top with cukes and toms. Enjoy!

It’s seriously the perfect snack, light lunch, or brunch!

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

After brunch, I got to work prepping for dinner. To stay with a springtime theme, I decided to make Mimi Thorisson’s Creme Fraiche Herb Roasted Chicken. However, instead of creme fraiche, I used non-fat Greek yogurt and all the fresh herbs my mom had in the garden (rosemary, thyme, parsley, and sage), and stuffed it with carrots, onion, lemon, and garlic.

On the side, we prepared prosciutto wrapped asparagus (drizzled with olive oil, salt, herbs, and lemon) and a beautiful Citrus Salad (butter lettuce, cara cara oranges, grapefruit, blue cheese, and hard boiled egg).

We finished our amazing meal with one of the most insane cakes I have ever had the pleasure of eating/making: Wild Blueberry and Ricotta cake. It is TOO. DIE. FOR. The perfect blend of light flavors and rich texture, it was moist and everything you want from a cake. I can’t recommend it enough. Make it for tea and coffee, or for a pot luck, or on a Monday night and enjoy it for breakfast every day for the rest of the week.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

I found the recipe on Bon Appetite’s website, but replaced the raspberries for wild blueberries and, of course, dressed it in it’s best Easter hat.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

It was a delicious afternoon! How do you spend family dinners?

Family Easter

One thought on “Family Easter

Leave a Reply

