LACMA + Pierre Huyghe: Retrospective.

A few months ago, while I was in LA, I went to the LACMA for a day of museum wandering with my friend Dom. We headed out to explore the museum’s exhibit of the moment: Pierre Huyghe retrospective. He works with film, installations and sculpture to create art. This was my second time at the exhibit and it was an entirely different experience than the first time! His pieces work to warp your perception and play with your imagination. It possibly the best exhibit I’ve ever been to! Unfortunately,the exhibit closed last week (Feb. 22) but I realized I never shared some of my photos from it. My own retrospective of my time at the LACMA this winter.

Processed with VSCOcam with kk1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with c1 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with s3 preset

After the Huyghe exhibit, we checked out some of the other modern/contemporary exhibits.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with a5 preset Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

It was a great day of wandering and discussing things like art and meaning, but also to just think silently about other things. When I find myself in a museum or exhibit, I feel myself absorbing and retaining a lot from what I am seeing or discovering, but in the same breath, I am expelling a lot of thought I carried in with me. It’s almost a way to detox my mind and thoughts. “Soul Searching”, if you will.

Processed with VSCOcam with s3 preset Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

One of the things that Dom and I discussed while at the museum was the fact that everyone is busy taking pictures of the art or where they are in order to remember it forever, rather than mentally absorbing the scene around them.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

I agree to an extent, but I also believe that by capturing the art for my memories, I am also capturing it in the way that I see it: In my interpretation; which I could then call my own art. I call it museum inception. Art within art.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

If you’re in LA, don’t miss out on a day of art. The LACMA is a fantastic museum and most exhibits are free!

LACMA + Pierre Huyghe: Retrospective.

One thought on “LACMA + Pierre Huyghe: Retrospective.

Leave a Reply

