The Trails

I’ve found new love for the mountains and trails around Boulder. Don’t get me wrong: I’ve always loved them, and I spent a good amount of time on them in the last five years. But recently, I’ve begun to find sanctuary on them.

At least once a week I’ll lace up my shoes and head for a trail run. Part of it is to get a more intense work out, another part is for the mental challenge (you can be the fittest person in the world, but if you don’t believe you can climb that ascent, you won’t); but mostly it’s for the feeling I get when I’m at the very top of the summit Processed with VSCOcam with s3 presetand take a moment to take it all in.

Processed with VSCOcam with s3 preset

It’s a pretty spectacular place.

Last week, my friend L and I decided to take a hike up Sanitas with her dog. It was the perfect mid morning break. The air was crisp but still warm and the breeze was just right. We climbed to the top and sat and talked and took in the view.

LaurenMtSanitas

LeilaMtSanitas

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

That’s what I love about Boulder so much. The weather is nearly always perfect and you can sneak away during your lunch for a quick hike and no one would even notice you’re gone. It’s right out our backdoors!

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Where do you like to escape to?? Are you a trail runner/hiker, or do you head somewhere else? Let me know in the comments!

The Trails

Leave a Reply

