Travels Abroad: Colombia

Well, as promised to various family and friends, I’ll be blogging about our (me and Tyty) trip to Colombia!

My grandpa is getting married at the end of our trip, so we decided to fly down, do a bit of exploring in Bogota and outside the city while hanging out with my family. The journey’s about 8 hours by plane, so we watched a lot of inflight TV and ate snacks. (Btw, Broadchurch on BBC, is a brilliantly addictive and suspenseful show!).

DSCN0061

10155807_10202507561464651_1587760132_n

I got a fancy new blogger’s camera for my birthday this year (thanks Dad!) and figured it was the perfect excuse to dive back into blogging…. however, I’m still trying to figure the camera out and learn all the settings. Bare with me, I promise the pictures will improve over the week.

When we landed, it was 5 til midnight and we were greeted by my uncle and grandpa at the gate. The biggest  surprise? It was soo warm! Bogota is not known for tropical, sunny climates like the rest of the country. It’s typically rainy and a little cold, so the warmth was a pleasant surprise coming from 30 degree weather in Boulder.

We tried our best to fall asleep quickly so the next day we could begin exploring. After a simple and delicious breakfast (fresh juice, cheese and arepa), we were off! We started with a long walk through a popular neighborhood, called La Zona G, that was pretty close to my grandpa’s house. Tyler pointed out something I’ve always noticed but never thought about: constant construction. It’s a true sign that  a lot is happening in this city and it’s continuing to grow exponentially in very positive ways. Each neighborhood here is beginning to take the shape of its inhabitants, reflecting subcultures, socio-economic backgrounds, and cultural interests–much like you might find in NYC or LA.

DSCN0072

 

photo1

Soon after we found ourselves in front of Bogota Beer Company, a local microbrewery with a couple British-style pub locations around the city. The beer was excellent (similar to an Oscar Blues brew), and we may have underestimated the power of altitude…

DSCN0078 DSCN0080

 

DSCN0075

Afterwards, we caught up with some family and later headed to my birthday dinner (yup, my bday was yesterday) with my gramps and aunts and uncles in a great part of town called “Usaquén”. It’s considered a historic district in Bogota, so very few changes have been to the infrastructure. Cobble stone streets leading to old colonial style homes and buildings, with high walls and courtyards, now house shops and chic restaurants. It has become a foodie mecca with all the hottest restaurants and bars opening in this area.

DSCN0095 DSCN0096

The next day was spent playing golf at the country club and hanging out with my little cousins before a big lunch (of traditional Colombian dishes) at my great-grandma’s house. Needing to digest such a big lunch, we slowly made our way back home, stopping for ice cream at one of my favorites: Crepes and Waffles (seriously, best pistachio ice cream ever), and a wine and cheese night with the fam.

DSCN0116 DSCN0120

 

DSCN0124 DSCN0131 DSCN0134

So far, I think Tyty’s enjoying his time….But maybe he should do a guest blogger segment this week?

DSCN0103

 

Travels Abroad: Colombia

Leave a Reply

