Back & College Educated, She Graduated.

So here’s something I haven’t done in a while. Blogged.

Whatever. New year, new resolutions right? The interesting thing is, since I’ve been gone, I’ve maintained my viewership. Maybe I was onto something before I left off? 2014 is going to be a blog year. Everyone and their mother has a blog these days, but I like to think I’m part of the OG Bloggers Club. So if I publicly say it, I have to follow it, right? I’M GOING TO WRITE MORE!

Okay that felt good. Anyhow… I graduated 2 weeks ago (go me!) and hopefully that will motivate me/give me more time to have adventures or thoughts worth writing about. I doubt anyone reading cared about my thoughts on the Arab Spring or how annoyed I was about such and such paper. (If you really did, please private message me and I guess I can send you my thoughts.)

Now that I have all this time, I’m really interested/nervous/excited to see where things will take me! With school finished, it’s time to start doing big girl things like work, decide where my next move will take me, get a bill for student loans, figure out annoying things like how health insurance works (stupid Obamacare), and basically just discover who I want to be longterm. (“Mom? Can you come pick me up? I’m scared.”)

Image

I thought that when I (finally) graduated pressure from deadlines and responsibility and even needing to arrive places on time ceased; and your parents threw this big party for you because “Hooray! You never have to go to an 8 am anymore or decide between going to class or happy hour!” For a fleeting moment you think your life is actually, finally going to be one long guiltless happy hour where you’ll dance from restaurant to bar like Carrie Bradshaw and friends, and you’ll even get to catch up on Game of Thrones! But then your family and friends go back home, and you’re left alone in your grad cap clutching a bottle of Moet because it reminds you of a baby bottle and you’re not ready to grow up.

Nope, in fact there are more deadlines (even just 2 weeks after the big party–I have a job after all)! And people judge you even more if you’re late and carrying the slightest smell of last nights booze with you like a purse. Like duh, that was for college. Now you have to be an adult and have wine and cheese nights instead.

Well….wait… I guess generations of really fabulous, well-dressed people graduated and do all those adult things and STILL have time for happy hour and can binge watch all their favorite shows. Maybe I could be the Beyonce of college graduates? So alright, I’m not as panicked as I was while writing the last paragraph. Definitely still intrigued about what’s to come. Aren’t you?

With the year still being pretty new, I hope you’ll read my 12 months of adventures and even join in on the fun if you’re so inclined! There’s a lot of change that gonna go down this year, but I think it’ll all be the best yet! Happy 2014 everyone, wishing you health, happiness, and wanderlust!

Cheers!

p.s. My grad pictures were taken by the exceptional and beautiful Meigan Canfield Photography! She’s based in Colorado and is amazing! Be sure to check out her work!

Back & College Educated, She Graduated.

Leave a Reply

