Patio Picnics.

One of my favorite things about summer is the leisurely attitude it promotes. I’m generally an on-the-go person. I always seem to have a hundred things to do in a day and never enough time to do them. But when summertime hits and its a Saturday, everything stops for me. No plans. No meetings. No stress. I just take each day at a time and go with the flow. I think it makes you appreciate things a little more.

Last weekend, after a little too much sun from Boulder’s Creekfest, Tyler and I strolled home to get out of the sun and enjoy a few drinks on the patio. We were entirely too lazy to make dinner so we scooted over to Whole Foods to pick up a couple things and make an easy summer time meal, complete with fried chicken, mac n cheese, and cucumber salad.

DSC_0143 DSC_0142 DSC_0141 DSC_0146 DSC_0151 DSC_0145

Since my current go-to summer drink (vodka lemonade) was recently featured on my favorite blog, The Londoner,  I figured it would be a great cocktail to compliment our summer meal. Rosie’s has a little bit of a twist, but it was the perfect summer patio drink and absolutely delicious! Her Basil Lemonade Grenades are super easy to make, but as most things, I would recommend making them from scratch! There’s nothing like fresh squeezed lemonade on a hot day and the bottled stuff just sucks, so don’t be lazy friends! Well worth the hand squeezed lemons. Ask Tyty (my professional juicer). Since I’m so clever, I thought it would be funny to set up an adult lemonade stand. I only had one customer (Tyty), but I won’t complain: more for us!

DSC_0134

DSC_0137

DSC_0167

DSC_0139  DSC_0172

We spent the rest of the evening sitting on the porch, talking, muching on our Whole Foods picnic and finishing our pitcher of adult lemonade as the sun set. It was the perfect evening to spend during the first weekend of summer and I can’t wait for a few more patio picnics! How do you spend summer afternoons?

Patio Picnics.

2 thoughts on “Patio Picnics.

Leave a Reply

