Mmm-mm: Zoe Ma Ma’s!

So remember when I told you the weather was beautiful and spectacular and too good to be true? Ah well, I spoke too soon… Today looked like this:

-2

The snow is left over from last week… but overcast none the less. The man in the picture is my good friend Daniel! (Hi Chefito!)… We went on a rather icy hike today, but it was still good fun and exercise! Possibly the last I might have for a few days since we’re expecting a good storm this weekend. I’m excited to bundle up by the fire and watch the boys watch the Broncos on Saturday…

Anywho… on my one sunny adventure this week, Lily and I stopped into one of my favorite Boulder spots for lunch! Now, this place is a secret. Not many people know of it. In fact, if you’re a fellow Boulderite, you’ve more than likely swiftly passed over it on your way to Pasta Jay’s or the West End. But I’m gonna let you in on it: Zoe Ma Ma’s. Its quite possibly some of the best traditional Chinese comfort food you can find. None of your typical Chinese take out of General Tsao’s chicken and rice or rubbery sesame chicken… Nope, this is the real deal. Fresh, flavorful, authentic, and made warm with love by Ma Ma herself on most occasions.

-2

Located on the west end of Pearl St, (literally next to Pasta Jay’s on 10th and Pearl), this small comfortable restaurant offers fast, largely portioned, delicious food for under $10! The menu focuses on several popular dishes representing different regions of China, and all are done extremely well! There are a few tables in front of the counter, but on a beautiful day like Monday, I recommend grabbing a seat at the outdoor counter bar (great for people watching!) and sipping on some of their fresh brewed green iced tea! Can you feel the refreshment now?

Now, I’m a big fan of Ma Ma’s cooking. I’ve been there a few times and sampled various menu items… Some of my favorites? I recommend slipping in on a Friday or Saturday for the daily special: Roasted Duck and Wonton Soup. Oh my goodness. Easily the best duck I’ve had without spending $50+ a plate. I took this particular dish to go on the way to Tyty’s house and it was more than enough to share!

Another great daily special is the Lion’s Head. A giant pork meatball that kills it with flavor! There noodle dishes and dim sum options are also excellent, and well… I hate to play favorites so I’m going to call them all my #1s!

Because the weather was so lovely Monday, I decided on the “Cool Noodle” and added chicken, with a pork bao bun on the side. Could not have chosen better! The dish was perfect for a crisp and sunny day of walking and shopping, with a mix of zesty noodle sauce and fresh veggies: carrots, cucumber, sprouts, and onions. The bao bun was warm and chewy, as per usual. Perfection.

-3

-4

As I mentioned, the portions are enormous here, so my leftover noodles made for a perfect lunch this afternoon! Like many places in Boulder, Zoe Ma Ma’s likes to keep everything reusable to all her utensils and bowls, etc. are ones you’d find at home which makes the joint so quaint and homey. It might be my favorite restaurant right now!

So if you’re ever in the Boulder area and are craving some authentic or flavorful food, swing by Zoe Ma Ma’s and check out their daily specials! I guarantee you will find exactly what you’re looking for, and you’ll keep coming back more!  Do any of you have a secret spot or recommendation in Boulder/Denver? I’d love to check them out!

Mmm-mm: Zoe Ma Ma’s!

2 thoughts on “Mmm-mm: Zoe Ma Ma’s!

Leave a Reply

