Happy Hour: Hapa Sushi

Since my friends and I are professional Happy Hour-ers, I thought it would be fitting to add a weekly happy hour review to my blog! I know I’m not the most consistent blogger, but this might help me write a little more often! Living in Boulder over the last 4 years, I’ve come to find its a great little foodie gem! Boulder has a wonderful variety of restaurants from their classic brunch spots (The Buff, The Village Coffee Shop) to contemporary eateries like John’s and The Bitter Bar. You can always find a delicious selection of sushi, vegetarian, Italian, farm to table, and Asian cuisines, and you’re never too far from a sandwich shop or burrito shack. So I bring to you this weekly review, starting with one of my favorite local spots: Hapa Sushi!

(This is one of my first memories of Boulder! I remember coming here with my dad during my Boulder campus tour way back in 2008.) Located right in the center of Pearl Street Mall, it has a great back bar and front patio. The interior is hip and chic, complimenting the American spin on their Japanese dishes, known for their scandalously named rolls: Orgasm roll, Booty Call roll, or 69 roll…can you imagine my dad telling the waitress he wanted a “69 roll”?? hahah I die…. Happy Hour specials include a selection of rolls for 2/$7, half price on all apps, and delicious cocktails priced at $3.50, as well as $3 sake! Can’t get any better really.

Of course we started off with a few cocktails before ordering our food. Lily chose the Pear Appletini, while I went with the Mango Gin Ginger. Both very strong and very delicious 😉

I ordered my favorite: Taro Poke, a sort of fried rice cake topped with spicy tuna. The portion is huge and filling, perfect for sharing or as an entree and only $7!


Lily indulged in the delicious and beautiful Spicy Tuna Nachos with fresh baked chips ($7). Foodgasming yet?

And the sashimi plate ($5), which was fresh and tasty, but a little vanilla compared to everything else on their menu… I’d go for the mango-chili calamari or ponzu pot sticker instead.

 

Happy Hour goes from 2:30-5:30 pm (Mon-Sat) and 10 pm-midnight (Thurs-Sat) so be sure to stop in! It’s the perfect spot for a late sushi lunch at a great price!! What are your favorite “advanced rolls’?

p.s. don’t forget to check out their Denver locations at Cherry Creek, LoDo, and Greenwood Village.

 

Happy Hour: Hapa Sushi

Leave a Reply

