Kitchen Confidentials: Dankenstein

Some days I come home starving, tired, and ready to chill out to netflix. And most days if you take a browse in my fridge, you’ll find it extremely sparse. Some old veggies, a package of tofu, various condiments, and expired almond milk. Not exactly appetizing. Now, I know I can easily go online and order some delicious take out but most of the time even that is too much after a long day.

This is where my crafty foodie knowledge comes in. I once had a boyfriend who taught me all the secrets of making a delicious, inspiring meal out of (literally) everything in your kitchen. He called it “Dankenstein”. His Dankenstein usually consisted of rice, onioins, various veggies, canned tuna, spices and hot sauce. A college boy meal of epic proportions. I quickly realized his method could be applied to anything and everything I had in my kitchen and still be equally dank. So here is my Asian-inspired Dankenstein.

In my kitchen I scraped together:

  • Extra Firm tofu (totally and COMPLETELY pressed and drained…. you’re going to need to bake it)
  • an old packet of “just add water stir-fry mix”
  • veggies (I used: spinach, red pepper, onion, cherry tomato, mushroom; but anything works)
  • brown rice
  • sesame seeds, soy sauce, honey, chili flakes, assorted spices
  1. Preheat oven to 400 F.
  2. Make brown rice according to package.
  3. After draining the tofu (30 mins for maximum drainage), I sliced it into dominoes and set in a bowl. Over it I poured the prepared stir fry mix (according to package) and added a bit of soy sauce. Let sit for 15-20 mins in fridge covered.
  4. Remove from fridge and place on a baking sheet; sprinkle sesame seeds on top if desired and pop in the oven for about 7 minutes
  5. After 7 mins, remove sheet and flip tofu. Return to oven for another 5-7 minutes.
  6. Meanwhile, on medium heat, add some oil and soy sauce to a pan and sautee your onions and peppers (5 mins), add mushrooms (1 min).
  7. While tofu is still hot from oven, add to veggie sautee and add spinach, tomato, and spices. Sautee for until spinach wilts.
  8. Serve over brown rice; garnish with cilantro and more sesame.

mmm dankness!…. Bon Appetite! xo

Kitchen Confidentials: Dankenstein

Leave a Reply

