Pears in Red Wine Reduction

As many know, I love to cook. These last few months however, I’ve found myself relying on quick easy recipes and fast food. (eek!) Around Christmas, I also found myself having an all out baking sesh with my mom and even got as into it to make my own marshmallows (super easy recipe btw!).

So while I was in Colombia this month, I started to get back into cooking and exploring recipes. For my “going home dinner” my grandpa gave me a recipe for pears poached in red wine that I was eager to try! It’s very simple and we kind of improvised since he made it up:

  • -8 pears, peeled with the bottoms sliced off to stand.
  • -1 bottle of red wine
  • -about 1 cup of sugar, divided (if you like it sweeter add some more!)
  • -1 tablespoon red wine vinegar
  • -2 sticks cinnamon
  • -1/2 tablespoon of fresh grated ginger
  • -lemon zest
  • -your favorite gelato (I chose almond and dark chocolate)

1. peel the pears and slice the bottoms off to create a standing base. Poke a few holes around the pears to help absorption. Arrange neatly in a large sauce pan.

2. pour 1/2 cup of sugar over pears and bottle of wine until tops are nearly covered. Add cinnamon and ginger.

3. boil on medium-low heat for about 45-1 hour. Remove pears from pan, leaving red wine mixture, and place in a large dish. Zest lemon over pears.

4. add 1/2 cup of sugar to red wine sauce (more if you prefer a more syrupy reduction) and bring to a boil and reduce to a simmer for another 30-45 min to create the reduction sauce.

5. serve pears with gelato and spoon reduction over pears and gelato.

Bon Appetite!

Pears in Red Wine Reduction

Leave a Reply

