7 Days of Christmas

Well now that finals are over, I’m free to go home and RELAX. Hey girl!I’m very glad to be home, but I was hoping to leave Frozen Boulder for Sunny LA. Instead I got Gloomy LA. Ew bro! Like, I’m tryna get a tan! Since I can’t do that right now, I’ve spent my time working out, listening to Rodrigo y Gabriela, eating too much food, and baking Holiday treats!

Because Christmas is only 8 days away (eek!) I’ve decided to dedicate one post a day to something Christmas-y. I know Christmas/Hannukah has crept up one most of us this year, so it’s my hope this will help get you into the holiday spirit!

I’m starting off with some great holiday treat recipes! Indulging in sugary, sweet delights is one of the best things about this time of year! Sweets always make great entertaining treats, hostess gifts, or a cozy past time during chilly days. So far I’ve made Flourless Peanut Butter, Toffee-Pretzel PB cookies (aka a Take 5 cookie!), sugar cookies (TBDecorated), and almond-apricot thumbprints.

By PB cookies were a basic gluten free cookie (yay healthy!), but to add some dynamic flavor I mixed in broken pretzels, chocolate chips, and toffee bits to create my Take 5 cookie (before leaving Boulder, I made homemade Take 5′s, pics coming soon!). They turned out sweet, salty, chewy, and delicious!

 

My almond-apricots were just as easy! Instead of using almond butter like Martha does, I replaced it with 1/4 teaspoon of pure almond extract to get the rich flavor! The dough ended up being rather creamy and soft, but works perfectly for the plumb thumbprint shape! I also baked half the cookies with the jam, and the other half without and added the apricot before they cooled. Both works great!

 

Next on my list is: peppermint marshmallows, cranberry noels, almond biscottis, and dark chocolate-cran-orange cookies. Stay tuned for lots of carols, gift wrapping, and fun holiday stuff! xo

Leave a Reply

